Dew Tour Part 2

Went back up to check out men’s skier halfpipe last night, and I must say it was a good show. Those guys are definitely charging. Both ski and snowboard pipe tricks are getting super tech these days, and I really hope it doesn’t get to a point where we’re seeing back to back 1260’s to 1440’s, because as hard as I know those tricks are, I’d far prefer to see a smaller spin with big amplitude and great style. Maybe I’m just old school. It was cool to see some double flips, it’s not only scary and bad ass, but it takes me back to the days of my youth, watching Mike Michalchuck in total awe. There was also a huge crowd turnout, which is great to see, especially considering that you had to ride a gondola to get to the event. It’s good to see a tour that seems to be successfully integrating snowboarding and skiing, I think that as long as people are out playing in the snow and having a good time, then that’s great.

Later on, we went to the afterparty in an airplane hanger where QBert was spinning. I’ve never seen him before but have always known for his juggling skills. He actually played a lot of great music and got the crowd moving. Best of all, he stayed totally away from the hip-pop vocoder stuff that is all the rage at parties like this these days. On a funny side note, this is the only party I’ve ever been to where the “VIP” area was at least three times as crowded as the general admission area. Sure, the VIP had an open bar, but the wait time had a lot of people opting to pay for drinks over standing in line. I really wanted to check out snowboard pipe today, but it is unfortunately pouring rain at these elevations, and I’m just not that hardcore anymore. I’ll just have to catch it on TV.

Mike Riddle

On another side note, I purchased a Nikon D-90 in late December, and I’ve been very happy with it so far. More on that in a future post.

0 Responses to “Dew Tour Part 2”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

