Flowing.

My girlfriend and I went to a meditation class last night, first time I’ve ever gone to anything like that, but I figured that with as much stuff as I’m juggling constantly, a little time out couldn’t hurt. It definitely wasn’t easy, but it seemed nice to take some time to just clean out your head, so we’ll probably go back next week. One of the things the instructor was talking about though, was striving for that moment when you’re “living in the present,” not thinking about anything else, just what’s happening right now. You forget about the grocery list, that your client wants yet another change, the guy who flipped you off at the stoplight, all of it. You’re in the zone.

That got me thinking, and I think that’s what we all strive for, and when we’re at our best. And we all get there in different ways, from snowboarding to painting, to skydiving to whatever it is we do to get our kicks. Slashing that turn through the pow, locking onto a rail, getting totally lost in your drawing, you forget about everything else and things start really flowing. That’s the feeling that we’re always striving for. It’s elusive, but it’s the best feeling in the world. I had an art teacher who always told us that we shouldn’t worry about the end result, we should just enjoy the process, and the outcome will take care of itself. I think that feeling is what she was talking about.

Sorry to get too deep, but hey, this is my soapbox right? Whenever you’re doing whatever it is that you do, try to appreciate when you’re flowing, and if you can figure out how to get there whenever you need to, let me know the secret.

0 Responses to “Flowing.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

